Clubs & Units

Al Malaikah Units

Eleven colorful and hardworking Units make up the uniformed bodies of Al Malaikah, these fun loving Shrine Masons make Al Malaikah Shrine pageantry possible. The Potentate calls on their expertise for assistance in carrying out the multitude of activities of the Temple. Their duties require their participation in parades, ceremonials and formal events throughout the year.
It is easy to become active in these units. You will find the doors open to the Unit that most satisfies your sense of enjoyment. Contact Al Malaikah headquarters at (213) 748-0173 for more information.

Temple Patrol

Monday Nights for Dinner (Clubroom)


Shrine Band

Tuesday Nights, Dark September (Clubroom)



Clown Unit meets the 2nd Sunday of the month at the Shrine Hospital…


Stage Craft

3rd Sunday of each month in the Stagecraft Unit Room…


Temple Guard

3rd Wednesday, 7:00 PM


Silver Mounted Patrol

(3rd) Wednesday of the month at 6:30 PM in the Silver Mounted Patrol unit’s room


Third Thursday for Dinner, Possible exception, Dark August…


Host Unit

Fourth Thursday


Al Malaikah Staff Units

Al Malaikah’s Staff Units, the Medical, Flying Eagles, Motor Patrol, Ritual Divan and Masquers are neither Shrine Clubs nor Temple Units. They are formed from among the Nobility of the Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. If you would like to know more about about a Staff Unit, call the Al Malaikah headquarters at (213) 748-0173.

Medical Staff

No meeting at Temple


Fourth Thursday (Auditorium under Stage)

Motor Patrol

3rd Wednesday, Coco’s Restaurant, 10841 Sepulveda Blvd…


Al Malaikah Clubs

One of the surest ways to enjoy the social life of the Shrine is to join one of Al Malaikah’s wide variety of Shrine Clubs.

Spread throughout the Shrine’s geographic area from Paso Robles to Orange County and Pacific shore to Nevada border, the clubs range from local/social to special interest, as indicated on our website. If you would like to know more about a club, call the Al Malaikah headquarters at (213) 748-0173. These Clubs are listed by area and contain the secretary’s name.

Los Angeles County

(Special Interest Clubs)

AL Malaikah R. V. J. Gary Hall
Legion of Honor Corps William J. Rogister
Los Angeles Donald Kuehne
Past Masters Kevin Morris
Show Business David G. Benitez
Sons of the Desert Simon J. Karkenny
Acacia Edgar Santos
Downey Harold Ansnes
Trojan Warren Spain
21-51 “Young Shriners” Tom N. Thomas
Marksmen Ralf Lopez

Northwestern Area

Antelope Valley Joseph Stouch
Awesome A David Mujica
Burbank Simon McIlroy
Encino Ron Bernheim
Granada Hills Bruce Ewald
North Valley
Old West D.E. “Gyd” Gydesen
Woodland Hills Marvin Short

Western Area

Bay Cities Albert I. Mack
Westwood Eugene Silver

Southern Area

Beach Cities Paul Galyean
Marina Del Rey Paul Burks

Northeastern Area

Citrus Harry Walsh P.P.
Pasadena Earl B. Berndes
Twenty-First Century Michael Mulcahy (president)

Kern County

Kern County Steve Wolford
Lake Isabella Tom McKinney

Orange County

Los Nietos Valley N.L. “Sam” Houston

Riverside County

Corona Riverside Rick Emmons
Desert Legion of Honor Corps Herbert Miller
Murrieta Julius Mischel
Palm Desert Robert F. Updyke
Palm Springs Byron I. Pesin

San Bernardino County

Apple Valley Robert (Brad) Bergman
Barstow James O. (Jim) Fourr
Big Bear Lake Gene Longbrake
Needles James Hutcherson
Old Baldy Bill Scinto
Orange Belt Dustin Murphy
San Bernardino Mike Anderson
High Desert William Hawthorne

San Luis Obispo County

Five Cities Cecil Davis
Paso Robles John H. Lehman
San Luis Obispo Wilbern “Bud” Oliver

Santa Barbara County

Lompoc Fred L. Holmes
Santa Barbara Alan Schweitzer
Santa Maria Charles Floyd

Ventura County

Conejo-Westlake J. Robert Roeder
Oxnard Tony Ramos
Tri Counties Legion of Honor Corps Melvin Young
Ventura Ryan Warren